All of Zena

Into the fantastic mind of Zena and english class.

2.2 October 17, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — nemo33 @ 1:26 pm

               Before reading the book something popped out at me, does the front cover look strangely familiar to anyone else? Yeah so now when I pick up the book all I see is Sherman holding up a prothestic breast.  But, really, I started reading the story and at first I thought I was doing pretty well at following where Powers was going with his life, but then I don’t know if I was tired, but I just felt like there was so much superflous things being included in that first 48 pages.  I did get kind of lost near page 20 but I regained focus around 25 and by the end of the 48 pages I was really interested in this magical mystery machine that is going to be produced.  And, I know we have seen it before but why can’t powers just say the names of these places and people, or give them a fake one so I dont have to keep thinking back to what U. stood for theoretically, or C. I don’t know about anyone else but I felt this was more frustrating then when reading Funhouse.  I do see that this is a post-modern trend with it trying to leave things out so it seems like this story isn’t fictional, but really I rather just have a fake name then.  Also, why is it that Powers comes home and decides to work in a science center.  I know that the two do have similarities but why would the science center be his first choice of work, while finishing up writing his books to spend his time in?

 

One Response to “2.2”

  1. hannahzel Says:

    i dont know if this is super obvious to anyone else but i had an idea about the cover too! the one side looks like a very traditional painting probably by michelangelo or something and then there is a digitized version on the other side. so this is may be a metaphor for the “classics” that they are going to let the neural net read and then it will “digitize” them as well!! spooky…


Leave a Reply

