All of Zena

Into the fantastic mind of Zena and english class.

What!?! September 11, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — nemo33 @ 8:04 pm

     Let me just say, EW to the whole bacon sandwich with grease running down Gail’s face scene. Also, just EW to Gail, and the ending of this book.  Why would Sam let her sleep over, rather sleep in the same bed, or have her over at all.  If I was Sam and Gail was all, like herself and just kept inviting herself over, I would kick her out so fast.  But, anyway to more pressing matters.

       In class we discussed how postmodernism plays up the autonomous self and turning people into objects.  The narrator to me definitely seemed like the person who was supposed to be autonomous.  Meanwhile Louise was defiantly the person that was turned into an object.  How is it that Sam could have possibly fallen so cliched in love her in 5 months?  Because Louise is the object, of affection could be said, and not just to Sam but Elgin as well.  Then again there’s Gail, I know yet again.  In class we mentioned how there is usually a lot of people which can be grouped into one person, and that person has control.  I think Gail is supposed to represent average, middle-aged, single women who have strong personalities since no one else in this story has one.  She is the opposite of the autonomous person, and while opposites attract I do not think Sam and Gail ever had a chance.  But this plays into the postmodernist writing much more than I thought it would.  With all the uncertainty and unexpected people in this book it plays into how postmodernists are into the whole everything not being able to be discerned and come out with all this unpredictability.

      The ending to this book is probably the most confusing part of it all, including the beginning.  It all goes back to the whole virtual versus reality thing that we discussed in class.  Did Sam ever hear about Louise?  Did the last third of the book even happen?  It all seemed like a blur of poetic nonsense really.  I wanted to know the end and just be put out of my misery, but when the last page came I was just like oh okay where’s the rest.  Overall, what a weird, obviously postmodern book.  Not one of my favorites.

 

3 Responses to “What!?!”

  1. Tammy Says:

    This book is an example since it is done as a postmodern book because of the different forms like the poetic ending like you said and the last page ending like a mystery and we as readers have to make the ending how we want to make it.

  2. Esther Says:

    I completely agree with you that Louise spends much of the book as an object for numerous other characters. As for Gail, however, I do not see her as idependent as you seem to imply. Instead, Gail seems to me to be struggling to portray this autonomy, owning her own bar, etc., but to the narrator, Gail is just an object; she is needy and, to Sam, only seems to exist when Sam is conscious of her. I’m not sure if this makes enough sense, but it does in my mind, so if you’re confused, don’t ask me.

  3. mcallistera910 Says:

    I enjoyed reading your post and never thought of Gail as being considered one of the strong female characters of the book. At first glance, I saw her as a woman with many vices (including the bacon sandwich ordeal) and saw her as rather weak because of this. In retrospect, Gail may have these vices but still seems to be a rather confident woman. The advice she gives to “Sam” is yet another example of how strong a character this woman is. I only wonder how the book would went if it were Gail in Sam’s shoes.


Leave a Reply

